top of page
  • alisonahouse

March Fiction Podcast Recs | House Blog

(originally published March 18, 2020)


If you’re anything like me, you’ve got a shelf full of books you’ve been meaning to read (or two shelves). And, well, now seems like a good time to start making a dent in that.


On January 1st I posted two lists on my facebook page – a list of my favourite books read in 2019 and books I’m looking forward to reading in 2020. Currently, I’ve finished two of the books and am half-way through another. (I’d have put “The Lightbulb Forest” on that list, but seeing as how I wrote all those stories, I think they count as Read.)


However, if you’ve been doing a lot of reading lately and you’d rather listen to something instead, here are some of my favourite fiction podcasts: (Please note, these podcasts tend to be dark, because I like twisted things)


1.Limetown. I haven’t listened to Season 2 or watched the series, and when I read the book I really only liked half of it, but I’ve listened to Season 1 over and over and over. A chilling and thrilling story about someone trying to figure out what happened to a town that disappeared.


2.The Message. Another that I’ve listened to multiple times. A team of cryptographers try to decode a message from space, but what might that message contain? [There’s a “sequel” to The Message called LifeAfter (quotations because it’s related, but not a direct sequel). I liked that one as well, although I liked The Message more. It’s about Ross, who spends most of his time listening to recordings of his late wife, but what happens when she begins speaking back to him?]


3.Palimpsest. I’ve only listened to Season 1 (Annabelle), and while it was a bit of a slow burn, it paid off in the end. A ghostly tale about memory and the past and what we perceive as reality. (Also, you can download the scripts, which might help a person if, say, they were thinking about maybe writing a podcast of their own…?)


4.Welcome to Night Vale. My OG podcast. I’ve only made it as far as chapter 20, but I love the weird, strange world that has been created. Also, Cecil’s voice is so calming to listen to.


5.The White Vault. (I originally forgot this, but now I can add it in). I've listened to Season 1 & 2. Characters from around the world are brought together to fix a problem at a remote polar outpost. But what's actually out there...?

If you have any recs for books or podcasts, let me know in the comments below!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page